The Larry Strickland Memorial Fund and Scholarship

The Larry Strickland Memorial Fund and Scholarship

SGM Larry L. Strickland served in the Army for 30 years. He was serving as sergeant major to the Army’s deputy chief of staff for personnel when he became a victim of the September 11, 2001, terrorist attack on the Pentagon.

Family and friends of SGM Strickland instituted a memorial scholarship fund and leadership award program in 2003. The Association of the U.S. Army will administer the fund.

Larry Strickland Leadership Award and Scholarship

Awarded annually to a noncommissioned officer who best exemplifies the Army’s vision and influences others in shaping future leaders while practicing excellent stewardship of the nation’s most precious resource - our soldiers.

Each recipient will receive a bronze eagle and $4,000 to assist in covering the costs of an education that tuition assistance does not pay, such as instructional fees, laboratory fees and books.His or her name also will be engraved on a permanent plaque at the U.S. Army Sergeants Major Academy, Fort Bliss, Texas.

AUSA thanks ASM Research for their generous financial contribution to the Larry Strickland Leadership Scholarship Program. 

The award is presented annually at the Sergeant Major of the Army Noncommissioned Officer and Soldier Forum at AUSA’s Annual Meeting.

Past Recipients
20171SG Scott L. Tate, SFC Theodore J. Kirchmeier
2016SGM Kenneth L Jackson, SSG Genesis Galicia
2015SFC Stuart Sword, 1SG Roger Hankins
2014CSM Bellinger; SFC Brain McClanahan
2013SFC Rodney Harris, CSM Ronald E. Johnson
2012SFC Jesus Serrano,  SGM Michael Thompson, MSG Jean-Hubert Cadet
2011CSM Kevin B. Stuart, CSM Tedd J. Pritchard,  MSG Damon Draught
20101SG Dana Jackson ; SGM Charles Kersey; SSG Ronald Carrion
2009SGM Thomas S. Gills; 1SG John D. Gutierrez; SFC Lumanai M. Snow
20081SG Patricia A. Obey, SFC Lonnie Powell Jr, SFC Pleshette D. Greggs
2007SGM Eric Willis, SGM John Heinrichs & 1SG Ava Bonds
2006CSM David S. Davenport, 1SG Gilbert Sutton, Jr. & 1SG Judith Jones
2005CMD Sgt. Maj. Dave Bruner
2004SGM David J. Litteral
2003SGM Stephen E. Spadaro