First Region AUSA Honors Those Who Serve

First Region AUSA Honors Those Who Serve

The Capital District of New York Chapter hosted its annual Soldier Recognition event on 26 September 2015 at the Albany headquarters of Aeon Nexus, corporate members of AUSA and Chapter supporters. This is the seventh year the First Region AUSA Chapter has recognized the outstanding achievements of local U.S. Army Active, Guard and Reserve Soldiers.

This year six of the nine honorees were present to accept their awards. Two AUSA corporate supporters, USAA (United Services Automobile Association) and GEICO (Government Employees Insurance Company), also made special presentations honoring Soldiers’ service.

Awardees were recognized in specific areas of achievement.

Soldier of the Year
SPC Carmelo J. Torres Jr. (USAR), 4th Brigade, 98th Division 

Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year
SSG David A. Calderon (USAR), 4th Brigade, 98th Division

Drill Sergeant of the Year
SSG Russell T. Vidler (USAR), 4th Brigade, 98th Division

NYARNG Soldier of the Year
SPC Michael C. Rowland

NYARNG NCO of the Year
SSG Christian J. Hager 
NYARNG Recruiter of the Year
SFC Carlos M. Estrada Vega

NYARNG Section Chief of the Year
MSG Duncan J. MacKay
Albany Recruiting Battalion (Active) Soldier of the Year
SGT Sonny D. Burk

Albany Recruiting Battalion (Active) NCO of the Year
SGT Sean D. Windfelder 

In addition to chapter members, awardees and the military community and civilian supporters in attendance, other special guests included the Adjutant General of New York, MG Patrick Murphy, and CSM Louis Wilson, New York State Command Sergeant Major.
To show appreciation for five new AUSA corporate members, Chapter organizers had each five-year membership certificate framed for display and invited them all to attend the event. Of the five, two representatives, Mr. Gavin Routt of Tully Rinckey, and Mrs. Judy Reed of Excelsior College, accepted their organizations’ certificates in person.