2022 Dr. Richard G. “Dick” Rhoades Department of the Army Civilian of the Year Awards Dinner

2022 Dr. Richard G. “Dick” Rhoades Department of the Army Civilian of the Year Awards Dinner

Publication Date
Friday, July 29, 2022

By Matt Mingus

Board Member

AUSA Redstone-Huntsville Chapter


Once again the Redstone-Huntsville Chapter of the Association of the United States Army (AUSA) will host the Department of the Army Civilian of the Year Award.  The Awards Dinner will be held August the 23rd at the Jackson Center.

All nominees will be recognized at the dinner and winners will be announced. We would like to thank each Command for their support and for helping make this event special for this year’s recipients. We would also like to thank our Presenting Sponsor, Tyonek, and Gold Sponsors Yulista, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, CTG, and The Defense Acquisition University South Region. 

We are honored to recognize 25 local Department of the Army Civilians who have demonstrated exceptional performance as members of the Army team. This year’s guest speaker is Mr. Jeff Langhout.

2022 nominees are listed in the table below.  Congratulations to all nominees for making the selection and representing their commands!

Management Executive

Joseph A. Giunta Jr., ACC-R

Brian A. Wood, AMCOM

Dr. Michael S. Richman, AVMC

Stan K. Sherrod, AVMC

Robert K. Strider, RCCTO

Davis D. Tindoll Jr., IMCOM

Marcia Holmes, RCCTO


Technical Management

Ara L. Cripps, AVMC

Glenn Carter, AVMC

David Wiethop, MDA

Travis G. Grant, PEO AVN

Wynn Sterling, AMCOM

Beler H. Watts III, PEO M&S

Amanda Clark, SMDC

J. Gary Hallinan, RCCTO



Julia A. Kidd, ACC-R

Matthew Brown, PEO AVN

Whitney Fling, IMCOM

Christopher Thomas, RCCTO

Ronald C. Bailey, SMDC


Supporting Staff

Sheila Crutcher, AMCOM


Department of Defense

Mike McEnery, DAU South

Dr. Dawn M. Sabados, PEO AV

Jazzmine Jordan, MDA

Bradley D. Johnson, RCCTO


Click here to register to attend!