2021 Dr. Richard G. “Dick” Rhoades Department of the Army Civilian of the Year Awards

2021 Dr. Richard G. “Dick” Rhoades Department of the Army Civilian of the Year Awards

Publication Date
Wednesday, September 1, 2021

This year the Redstone-Huntsville Chapter of the Association of the United States Army (AUSA) sponsored the Department of the Army Civilian of the Year Award. The Awards Dinner was held August 17th at the Jackson Center. We would like to thank each Command for their support and for helping make this event special for this year’s recipients. We would also like to thank our Presenting Sponsor, Tyonek, and Gold Sponsors Yulista, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, CTG, BlueHalo, and The Defense Acquisition University South Region. 


This year we recognized 20 local Department of the Army Civilians who have demonstrated exceptional performance as members of the Army team.  The Chapter sponsored the Awards Dinner and we were honored to have Mr. Joe Giunta make remarks.  Our Chapter President, Mrs. Rhonda Sutton welcomed our guests and gave this year’s winner her award. Nominees were recognized in five categories:  Technical/ Technical Management Award, Professional/Technical Award, Supporting Staff Award, and Department of Defense Award and the Non-Appropriated Fund Award.  These outstanding civilians were nominated in March by their commands or agencies throughout the Redstone-Huntsville area.  


 Dr. Stephanie Reitmeier from the U.S. Army Capabilities Development Command (DEVCOM) Aviation & Missile Center (AvMC) was recognized as this year’s overall winner and winner of the Technical Management category. Dr. Reitmeier also won the Third Region award and was nominated by Third Region for the National Award. Mr. Mike Cowperthwait from PEO Aviation won the Technical Management award and Mr. Chase Dervan from PEO Missiles and Space won the Professional Technical award.  Both Ms. Elizabeth Raymond from AMCOM and Ms. April Pelligrino from PEO Missiles and Space won the Supporting Staff Award. Mr. Juan Bedolla from the Missile Defense Agency and Mr. John Beck from the Defense Acquisition University won the Department of Defense category.  


We will be sending out requests for nomination packets in early January 2022 for next year's awards. Contact AUSA DACOY Chairman Mr. Matt Mingus, mmingus@ctgnow.com, for information. 


This year’s nominees are listed in the table below.  Congratulations to all nominees for making the selection and representing their commands!


Technical/Technical Management

Dale Smith, AMCOM

*Dan Bailey, CCDC, FVL

Katherine Olson, CCDC

Dr. Stephanie Reitmeier, CCDC

Corry Cox, RCCTO

Nathan Kennedy, PEO AVN

Billy Parsons, Jr., PEO M&S

Steve Chisgas, RCCTO

Amanda Clark, SMDC 


Professional/ Technical (GS 11-13) 

LaMeshia Billington, ACC-R 

Michelle Gilbert, PEO AVN

Michelle Gilyard, PEO M&S

Daniel Matyas, SMDC

Timothy Hanson, USASAC


Supporting Staff (GS 5-10)

Katherine Lamm, AMCOM


Department of Defense (GS 11-14)

Eduardo Francis, AMC

Aimee Ghee, PEO AVN

Seth Shepherd, DAU South

Michael Durham, MDA


Non-Appropriated Funds (GS 5-10)

Kate Kelly, USAG-RSA

Mr. Joe Guinta, Dr. Stephanie Reitmeir, Mrs. Rhonda Sutton
2021 Category Winners
2021 Nominees