Army Reserve (AR)

Army National Guard (ARNG)

AUSA Family Readiness

Book Program



NCO & Soldiers Programs

Retiree and Veteran Affairs Programs

ROTC Programs

Career Center

AUSA Innovators Corner

 Enjoy Our Benefits

Sergeants Major of the Army 

The Sergeant Major of the Army is the highest ranking noncomissioned officer in the Army.

14th SMA - Raymond F. Chandler, III
MARCH 2011 - Present
Army Chief of Staff, GEN Raymond T. Odierno

13th SMA - Kenneth O. Preston
JANUARY 2004 - MARCH 2011
Army Chief of Staff: GEN George W. Casey, Jr.

12th SMA - Jack L. Tilley
JUNE 2000 - JANUARY 2004
Army Chief of Staff: Eric C. Shinseki

11th SMA - Robert E. Hall
OCTOBER 1997 - JUNE 2000
Army Chiefs of Staff: Dennis J. Reimer, Eric C. Shinseki

10th SMA - Gene C. McKinney
JULY 1995 - OCTOBER 1997
Army Chief of Staff: Dennis J. Reimer

9th SMA - Richard A. Kidd
JULY 1991 - JUNE 1995
Army Chief of Staff: Gordon R. Sullivan

8th SMA - Julius W. Gates
JULY 1987 - JUNE 1991
Army Chief of Staff: Carl E. Vuono

7th SMA - Glen E. Morrell
JULY 1983 - JUNE 1987
Army Chief of Staff: John A. Wickham, Jr.

6th SMA - William A. Connelly
JULY 1979 - JUNE 1983
Army Chief of Staff: Edward C. Meyer

5th SMA - William G. Bainbridge
JULY 1975 - JUNE 1979
Army Chiefs of Staff: Frederick C. Weyand, Bernard W. Rogers

4th SMA - Leon L. Van Autreve
JULY 1973 - JUNE 1975
Army Chiefs of Staff: Creighton W. Abrams, Frederick C. Weyand

3rd SMA - Silas L. Copeland
OCTOBER 1970 - JUNE 1973
Army Chiefs of Staff: William C. Westmoreland, Bruce Palmer, Jr. (Acting), Creighton W. Abrams

2nd SMA - George W. Dunaway
Army Chief of Staff: William C. Westmoreland

1st SMA - William O. Wooldridge
JULY 1966-AUGUST 1968
Army Chiefs of Staff: Harold K. Johnson, William C. Westmoreland