2 new members elected to AUSA Council of Trustees, 7 re-elected 


The Association of the United States Army’s Council of Trustees elected two new members and re-elected seven members to the council at its May 16 meeting at AUSA national headquarters. Terms begin on July 1.

Lt. Gen. Roger C. Schultz, USA, Ret., program management director, Lockheed Martin Global, Training and Logistics, was elected to serve on the council as vice chairman for National Guard and reserve affairs.

Schultz is a former chief of the Army National Guard.

Sgt. Maj. of the Army Jack Tilley, USA, Ret., the 12th sergeant major of the Army, was elected to serve as vice chairman for noncommissioned officer and soldier programs.

Tilley is now serving as chairman and CEO of the American Freedom Foundation that he co-founded.

Both Tilley and Schultz’s term will expire in June 2013.

Lt. Gen. David H. Ohle, USA, Ret., vice chairman for retiree and veteran affairs; and George T. Singley, III, vice chairman for civilian affairs, were re-elected to serve in these positions for additional two-year terms to expire June 2013.

Re-elected to serve as trustees for additional three-year terms were: Nicholas D. Chabraja, who will again serve as council chairman; Gen. Dennis J. Reimer, USA, Ret.; Lt. Gen. Larry R. Jordan, USA, Ret.; Valerie L. Baldwin; and Sgt. Maj. of the Army Robert E. Hall, USA, Ret.

The council also approved 14 new members and reappointed 23 members to the Association’s Advisory Board of Directors. These members will serve a three-year term beginning July 1.

The newly appointed members and their chapters are: Dave Barber, Fairfax-Lee; Col. Jeanne Blaes, USA, Ret., Arizona Territorial; Col. Timothy P. Considine, USA, Ret., Rock Island Arsenal; CW5 Robert L. Huffman, USA, Ret., Tennessee-Kentucky; Sgt. 1st Class Michael P. Jarrell, Indiana; Col. Anthony Kanelis, Fairfax-Lee; and Command Sgt. Maj. Michael Lawrence, Denver Centennial.

Staff Sgt. Joshua Morrison, Fairfax-Lee; Maj. Gen. Timothy Orr, Des Moines Freedom; CW5 James Thompson, Fairfax-Lee; Col. Thom Tuckey, USA, Ret., Greater Augusta Fort Gordon; Command Sgt. Maj. Robert W. Van Pelt, USA, Ret., Capital District of New York ; and CW3 Mark Walton, Mission Trails, were also appointed.

Reappointed to the Advisory Board were: Col. David Appling, USA, Ret., Gen. J.W. Stilwell; Command Sgt. Maj. Mark C. Avery, USA, Ret., Gen. of the Army Omar N. Bradley; Col. Duane H. Bartrem, AUS, Ret., Southwestern Michigan; Col. James Cunningham, USA, Ret., Lawton-Fort Sill; Edward D. Dauksz, George Washington; Lt. Gen. Charles Dominy, USA, Ret., George Washington; Brig. Gen. William F. Engel, USA, Ret., Fairfax-Lee; Col. Henry R. Farrell, USA, Ret., Arizona Territorial; Maj. Gen. Peter C. Franklin, USA, Ret., Massachusetts Bay; Col. Clyde Glosson, USA, Ret., Central Texas-Fort Hood; Lt. Gen. Arthur J. Gregg, USA, Ret., Fairfax-Lee; Maj. Gen. Jerry C. Harrison, USA, Ret., Fairfax-Lee; Brig. Gen. Norman A. Hoffman, USA, Ret., Columbia River; Ronald W. Johnson, George Washington; Karen R. Lowe, George Washington; Maj. Gen. Robert L. Nabors, USA, Ret., Fairfax-Lee; Col. Michael Neer, AUS, Ret., Greater Kansas City; and Col. Ian T. Patterson, USA, Ret., George Washington.

Lt. Col. Jeffrey Pinasco, USA, Ret., George Washington; Lt Gen. Thomas J. Plewes, AUS, Ret., Fairfax-Lee; Command Sgt. Maj. Eddie L. Roberts, USA, Ret., Chattahoochee Valley-Fort Benning; Brig. Gen. Robert G. Sausser, USA, Ret., Carlisle Barracks-Cumberland Valley; Margaret Tyree, White Sands Missile Range; Toni Wainwright, Central Virginia; and Wesley F. Walters, George Washington, were also reappointed.

Advisory board members serve on one of the Association’s standing committees to include Army civilians; awards; chapter operations; finance and audit; NCO and soldier programs; reserve components; retiree and veterans’ affairs; and standing bylaws.

A listing of the committees and their members is published periodically in ARMY Magazine.