Outstanding Legislator of 2010 Award 


The Association of the United States Army will present Reps. Norm Dicks, D-Wash., and Rodney Frelinghuysen, R-N.J., its Outstanding Legislator of 2010 Award at a Capitol Hill ceremony July 28.

Dicks, the chairman of the House Appropriations Defense subcommittee, has been a strong advocate for national defense. In announcing the selection AUSA officials cited his work on military end strength, providing for military families, raising the death gratuity to $100,000, supporting the Post 9/11 GI Bill and permitting concurrent receipt of retirement and disability payments.
Frelinghuysen, who served in Vietnam in the 93rd Engineer Battalion (Construction), is also a member of the House Appropriations Defense subcommittee. In announcing the selection, AUSA officials cited his strong support of the Army during his eight terms in Congress, advocating veterans health care funding and caring for homeless veterans and working to pass the Post 9/11 GI Bill.
This is the 12th year AUSA has presented the award. Past recipients in the House have included Reps. Ike Skelton, David Obey, C.W. Bill Young and John McHugh. Past recipients in the Senate have included Sens. Carl Levin, Daniel Inouye, Kay Bailey Hutchinson and James Inhofe.